App Pre-Authorisation

Have more questions? Submit a request

Why have we introduced pre-authorisation?

We've introduced pre-auth to help reduce fraudulent transactions on our network. Pre-auth is an established practice in other industries, such as accommodation and car rentals, and it's becoming more common across Australian EV networks.

You would have seen some information about the introduction of pre-authorisation when we launched it into the app, and you can also see a reference to it every time you start a charge.



Preauth.pngPreauth - Inpage.png

What is pre-auth?

When a session is pre-authorised (pre-auth) through the app, your bank holds $30 on your card to help ensure no billing issues that may result in account suspension. 

When you finish your charge, if it costs less than $30, the actual amount will be debited to your card, and the pre-authorised amount will be released. This often takes 1-3 days but can take up to 7 days to reflect on your statement, depending on your bank's processing times. 

If your session costs more than $30, the final amount will be debited to your card, and the pre-authorised amount will be released, but again, it may take up to 7 days to reflect on your statement, depending on your bank's processing times. 

There will not be a pre-authorisation hold if an active Evie Charging Voucher is added to your account.

What to do if your pre-auth fails?

Double-check that your card hasn't expired or has a balance below $30. If the issue persists, try adding a different card or another payment method.

Why was I charged twice?

It may be because your charge has exceeded $30, and we have charged the actual amount to your card. Your bank releases the initial $30 immediately, but the adjustment may take up to 7 days to reflect on your statement.

While your bank releases the pre-authorisation hold immediately, each bank has its own internal process and timeline for processing this. If you are concerned about a transaction, we recommend you contact your bank for clarification.

What if I charge more than once a day?

You will be charged pre-authorisation for each charge session.

What if my session failed?

If you cannot start a charge, your bank will release your pre-auth amount, but if you're paying with Apple Pay or Paypal, you may be required to make another pre-auth to restart the charge. We're actively working on improving this experience.

Articles in this section

Was this article helpful?
39 out of 105 found this helpful
Share